Ballon d’Or 2018: Winners to be announced on Monday

Ballon d’Or 2018: The men’s Ballon d’Or winner will be announced on Monday – and an inaugural female victor will be named too.

There are 30 candidates on the shortlist for the male award, including 11 Premier League players, Lionel Messi and current holder Cristiano Ronaldo.

England’s Lucy Bronze and Fran Kirby are among the 15-woman shortlist.

France Football has awarded the prestigious prize to the best male player every year since 1956, adding a women’s award this year.

Barcelona captain Messi and Juventus forward Ronaldo – formerly of Manchester United and Real Madrid – have won the past 10 Ballons d’Or between them. Kaka, in 2007, was the winner that preceded them.

Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric is the odds-on favourite with bookmakers to add the Ballon d’Or to the Fifa Best Men’s Player award he picked up in September.

For the first time there is also a youth award, the Kopa Trophy, with Liverpool and England full-back Trent Alexander-Arnold on the 10-man shortlist.

The ceremony will start at 20:00 GMT and will be hosted by David Ginola in Paris.

Before we reveal the full 30-man shortlist, can you name the seven players to finish highest – excluding Messi and Ronaldo – every year for the past decade?

Nine finished third behind the pair, with the 2010 answer finishing second and Ronaldo down in sixth that year.

Ballon d’Or 2018 nominees

Position Country Club
Sergio Aguero Forward Argentina Manchester City
Alisson Goalkeeper Brazil Liverpool
Gareth Bale Forward Wales Real Madrid
Karim Benzema Forward France Real Madrid
Kevin de Bruyne Midfielder Belgium Manchester City
Edinson Cavani Forward Uruguay Paris St-Germain
Thibaut Courtois Goalkeeper Belgium Real Madrid
Roberto Firmino Forward Brazil Liverpool
Diego Godin Defender Uruguay Atletico Madrid
Antoine Griezmann Forward France Atletico Madrid
Eden Hazard Forward Belgium Chelsea
Isco Midfielder Spain Real Madrid
Harry Kane Forward England Tottenham
N’Golo Kante Midfielder France Chelsea
Hugo Lloris Goalkeeper France Tottenham
Mario Mandzukic Forward Croatia Juventus
Sadio Mane Forward Senegal Liverpool
Marcelo Defender Brazil Real Madrid
Kylian Mbappe Forward France Paris St-Germain
Lionel Messi Forward Argentina Barcelona
Luka Modric Midfielder Croatia Real Madrid
Neymar Forward Brazil Paris St-Germain
Jan Oblak Goalkeeper Slovenia Atletico Madrid
Paul Pogba Midfielder France Manchester United
Cristiano Ronaldo Forward Portugal Juventus
Ivan Rakitic Midfielder Croatia Barcelona
Sergio Ramos Defender Spain Real Madrid
Mohamed Salah Midfielder Egypt Liverpool
Luis Suarez Forward Uruguay Barcelona
Raphael Varane Defender France Real Madrid

Women’s Ballon d’Or 2018 nominees

Position Country Club
Lucy Bronze Defender England Lyon
Pernille Harder Forward Denmark Wolfsburg
Ada Hegerberg Forward Norway Lyon
Amandine Henry Midfielder France Lyon
Lindsey Horan Forward USA Portland
Sam Kerr Forward Australia Chicago
Fran Kirby Forward England Chelsea
Saki Kumagai Defender Japan Lyon
Dzsenifer Marozsan Midfielder Germany Lyon
Amel Majri Midfielder France Lyon
Marta Forward Brazil Orlando
Lieke Martens Forward Netherlands Barcelona
Megan Rapinoe Midfielder USA Seattle
Wendie Renard Defender France Lyon
Christine Sinclair Forward Canada Portland

2018 Kopa Trophy shortlist

Position Country Club
Houssem Aouar Midfielder France Lyon
Trent Alexander-Arnold Defender England Liverpool
Patrick Cutrone Forward Italy AC Milan
Ritsu Doan Midfielder Japan Groningen
Gianluigi Donnarumma Goalkeeper Italy AC Milan
Amadou Haidara Midfielder Mali Salzburg
Justin Kluivert Forward Netherlands Roma
Kylian Mbappe Forward France Paris St-Germain
Christian Pulisic Midfielder United States Borussia Dortmund
Rodrygo Forward Brazil Santos

Also Read: UEFA Nations League: all you need to know

What is the Ballon d’Or?

The Ballon d’Or has been awarded by France Football every year since 1956, with England’s Stanley Matthews the first winner.

It was only for European players until 1995, when it expanded to become open for any player at a European club. From 2007 it opened up to the rest of the world.

The 30-man list of nominees is compiled by the editorial staff of the French magazine, with the winner voted for by journalists from around the world, with one representative per nation.

From 2010 to 2015 it merged with Fifa’s awards, but they split and the world governing body set up its own awards again in 2016.

Source: @BBCSports

About admin

iBetPlus is a Sports information sites that delivers optimum knowledge, strategies, key techniques and tactics
View all posts by admin →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.